Skip to Main Content

Football

Football_main_01

CURRENT Student Interest Form   

   Fenwick FAST Camp Information   

Fenwick Football is a Chicagoland football powerhouse that has produced many great players and teams in its history. Among those are 1953 Heisman Trophy Winner Johnny Lattner.

Prior to the institution of a state playoff system for football in the 1970s, Fenwick competed to play in the Prep Bowl, which pitted the champions of the Chicago Catholic League against the champion of the Chicago Public League. Fenwick won four Prep Bowl titles at the game's usual home of Soldier Field. The first was in 1945 where a crowd of 80,000 fans saw Fenwick defeat Tilden High School, 20–6. This game is currently tied as the 7th most attended high school football game. The second win was in 1962 when Fenwick defeated Schurz High School 40–0. The win not only capped an undefeated season but was played before over 91,000 fans—the third largest crowd to witness a high school football game in Illinois history.

In the modern era of Illinois High School Football with the inception of the IHSA State Championship (1974), Fenwick has had three(3) teams reach the State Semi-Finals( 1981 6A, 1995 5A, and 2016 7A) and two(2) teams reach the State Quarter Finals (2004 5A, and 2014 7A).

Fenwick Football, who now calls Triton College their football home, continue to represent the Friars with PRIDE!


Teams

  • Freshman
  • Sophomore
  • Varsity

Highlights

  • 2012 -2013-2016-2017 League Champions 
  • 2012- 2013 7A  Second Round Playoffs
  • 2014 7A State Quarter Finalist
  • 2016 7A State Semi-Finalist
  • 2017 7A Playoff Qualifier

Coaching Staff

Fenwick FAST Head Coach Matt Battaglia mbattaglia@fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Coordinator/Associate HC Titcus Pettigrew tpettigrew@fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Coordinator Brien Rooney '06 brooney@my.fenwickfriars.com
Assistant Head Coach Mark Vruno mvruno@fenwickfriars.com
Sophomore Head Coach Talmadge Hill thill@my.fenwickfriars.com
Freshman Head Coach Dan O'Keefe dokeefe@fenwickfriars.com
Strength & Conditioning JR Kremer jkremer@my.fenwickfriars.com
Athletic Trainer Tony McCormick tmccormick@fenwickfriars.com
Athletic Trainer Arielle Willett awillett@fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Caleb Casey ccasey@my.fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Aidan Conlon aconlon@my.fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Jim Farnan '82 jfarnan@my.fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Mike Herman mherman@my.fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Ray Moland '96 rmoland@fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Ryan Pattison rpattison@my.fenwickfriars.com
Defensive Assistant Greg Zajac gzajac@my.fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Matt Barabasz mbarabasz@fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Dom Bolton '09 dbolton@fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Arnie Gough agough@my.fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Al Reese areese@my.fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Tim Rooney '75 trooney@my.fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Craig Schneider cschneider@my.fenwickfriars.com
Offensive Assistant Ryan Smith '14 rsmith@my.fenwickfriars.com
Culture Coach Chris Bohanek cbohanek@my.fenwickfriars.com
Coach Emeritus Don Heldmann Forever in Our Hearts
Close