Skip to Main Content



CURRENT Student Interest Form   

   Fenwick FAST Camp Information   

Fenwick Football is a Chicagoland football powerhouse that has produced many great players and teams in its history. Among those are 1953 Heisman Trophy Winner Johnny Lattner.

Prior to the institution of a state playoff system for football in the 1970s, Fenwick competed to play in the Prep Bowl, which pitted the champions of the Chicago Catholic League against the champion of the Chicago Public League. Fenwick won four Prep Bowl titles at the game's usual home of Soldier Field. The first was in 1945 where a crowd of 80,000 fans saw Fenwick defeat Tilden High School, 20–6. This game is currently tied as the 7th most attended high school football game. The second win was in 1962 when Fenwick defeated Schurz High School 40–0. The win not only capped an undefeated season but was played before over 91,000 fans—the third largest crowd to witness a high school football game in Illinois history.

In the modern era of Illinois High School Football with the inception of the IHSA State Championship (1974), Fenwick has had three(3) teams reach the State Semi-Finals( 1981 6A, 1995 5A, and 2016 7A) and two(2) teams reach the State Quarter Finals (2004 5A, and 2014 7A).

Fenwick Football, who now calls Triton College their football home, continue to represent the Friars with PRIDE!


  • Freshman
  • Sophomore
  • Varsity


  • 2012 -2013-2016-2017 League Champions 
  • 2012- 2013 7A  Second Round Playoffs
  • 2014 7A State Quarter Finalist
  • 2016 7A State Semi-Finalist
  • 2017 7A Playoff Qualifier

Coaching Staff

Fenwick FAST Head Coach Matt Battaglia
Defensive Coordinator/Associate HC Titcus Pettigrew
Offensive Coordinator Brien Rooney '06
Assistant Head Coach Mark Vruno
Sophomore Head Coach Talmadge Hill
Freshman Head Coach Dan O'Keefe
Strength & Conditioning JR Kremer
Athletic Trainer Tony McCormick
Athletic Trainer Arielle Willett
Defensive Assistant Caleb Casey
Defensive Assistant Aidan Conlon
Defensive Assistant Jim Farnan '82
Defensive Assistant Mike Herman
Defensive Assistant Ray Moland '96
Defensive Assistant Ryan Pattison
Defensive Assistant Greg Zajac
Offensive Assistant Matt Barabasz
Offensive Assistant Dom Bolton '09
Offensive Assistant Arnie Gough
Offensive Assistant Al Reese
Offensive Assistant Tim Rooney '75
Offensive Assistant Craig Schneider
Offensive Assistant Ryan Smith '14
Culture Coach Chris Bohanek
Coach Emeritus Don Heldmann Forever in Our Hearts