Skip to Main Content

Physical Education

Curriculum

Physical education provides opportunities for students to gain current knowledge of physical fitness facts, healthful living practices, leisure time pursuits, stress management techniques, and to receive instruction in the skills necessary for successful participation in activities necessary for optimum health and physical efficiency. 
Physical education is an academic discipline, an essential portion of the General Education process. Further, the physical education curriculum is centered on the concept that movement skills, intellectual development, physical fitness and healthful living practices are elements of life that must be taught and reinforced. Specific knowledge, skills and practice techniques that best benefit the student do not just happen. Instruction, analysis and evaluation by a credentialed professional is essential for implementing this philosophy.

Program Student Learning Objectives

Students will understand the importance of physical education and be able to:

 
  • Define recognize the health components of fitness.
  • Recognize the physical and mental benefits of increased physical activity.
  • Determine factors involved with development, fitness levels and training strategies.
  • Apply learned fundamental skills to the games they learn.
  • Utilize physical activity as a tool to manage stress.
  • Empower themselves by setting and working toward realistic individual fitness goals.
  • Participate in a motivating and nurturing environment resulting in a greater sense of well-being and self-esteem.
  • Appreciate the rules of organized play.
  • Understand and utilize various training methods.
  • Assess individual levels of fitness components.
  • Develop an appreciation of physical activity as a lifetime pursuit and a means to better health.
 
 

Grading

PE will be graded using the following point value system:

DRESS

Full Dress- Fenwick Uniform with appropriate shoes = 5 pts. Per day

Partial Dress – Missing Fenwick Shorts or Shirt, but appropriate shorts or shirt = 3 pt. per day

NO Dress – Did not dress or does not have shoes, or no appropriate shirt or shoes = 0 pts. per day


PARTICIPATION

Full Participation/ Highly Engaged = 5 pts. Per day

Partial Engagement = 3 pt. per day

No Participation = 0 pts. per day


WRITTEN COMPONENT

Worksheet assignments will count for 5-10 points.

Activity assessments will count for 30-40 points.

Note: In season athletes that have PE ARE required to participate.

Faculty

Mr. Raymond Moland, rmoland@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 309
Mr. Dave Hogan, dhogan@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 339
Mr. Joseph Konrad, jkonrad@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 136
Mr. Stanton Peck, speck@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 314
Mr. Titcus Pettigrew, tpettigrew@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 111
Mr. Scott Thies, sthies@fenwickfriars.com, ext. 343

Raymond Moland

Raymond Moland

Department Chair

ext. 309

E-mail
Physical Education and Health Departments